Du Quoin High School

Reasons we are proud…

  • March Students of the Month were: David Gomes, Caitlin Stanley, Carlie Schubert, Tyler Swiney.

  • On February 27th , the River-to-River Conference held its annual honor band concert at Shryock Auditorium. Du Quoin was represented in the Honor Symphonic Band by Madelyn Haggard, Bethany Carter, Anna Carter, Abigel Alvarado, Delainey File, Guy Indorante, Reagan Tilley, Trevor Eubanks, and Toby Hottes.


  • Members of the DHS Band competed in the IHSA solo/ensemble contest on Saturday, March 3rd and earned 72 First Superior ratings and 5 Excellent ratings.  Nice job!

  • Congrats 2017-18 SIRR Girls’ Basketball All-Conference Selection Grace Haney!

  • Swimmers Paxton Higgerson, Rylan Ragar, and Peyton Wood competed at the IHSA Sectional Swim Meet in Urbana. Paxton was Sectional Champion and qualified for IHSA State...the first time in school history!


  • SIU helds its annual Accounting Challenge at the end of February. Competing for DHS were: Jordan Coffel, Mackenzie Delisle, Christian Feltmeyer, Bobbiann Hamlin, Olivia Hargis, Tevin Lee, Zach Lilly, Dawson McRoberts, Brogan Smith, Tyler Swiney, and Caitlyn Williams. Dawson earned 2nd Place in Advanced Accounting!

  • Du Quoin High School students, Grace Haney and Ryan Myers visited the Illinois State Capitol on Feb. 13th to serve as Honorary Pages for a Day with State Senator Paul Schimpf. The program gives high school students from Dist. 58 the chance to learn about the legislative process.


  • The DHS Scholar Bowl Team went  3-2 today at the SIRR meet on Feb. 20th. Our own Guy Indorante was a top scorer for the Mississippi Division!

  • Olivia Whitley was elected as the treasurer in 2018-19 for the Little Egypt District of Student Council! Congrats Olivia and nice work by our members who helped campaign!

  • The Egyptian Region of the Illinois Principal’s Association held its annual student recognition breakfast in Mt. Vernon on March 1st. DHS was represented by two excellent seniors, Delainey File & Hope Stewart.