DQ Vision Statement


17th Annual Jim Booker Memorial Golf Scramble a Continued Fundraising Success for the District #300 Educational Foundation

The District #300 Educational Foundation recently held its 17th Annual James
Booker Memorial Golf Scramble fundraising event at the Red Hawk Country Club on
Friday, August 4, 2023. A total of 13 teams participated in the morning event. First place
in “A” flight went to the team sponsored by Estel Hoffard/AFLAC of Mark Bullock,
Gene Creek, Richard Martin, Randy Popejoy who finished the 18 hole event with a score
of 56 at 14 under par. The “B” flight champions were the team sponsored by Pepsi Mid
America of Bob Wallace, Phyllis Wallace, Kelsey Wright and Dan Pender with a score of
63 at 7 under par.
The winners of other competitions on the course receiving gifts courtesy of the
Foundation were Kelsey Wright for winning the contest of Women’s Closest to Pin and
Sheila Metten for winning the contest for the Women’s Longest Drive. The Men’s
Longest Drive contest was won by Jason James with Carter McPherson winning the
Men’s Closet to Pin contest. The 50/50 drawing was won by Greg Toensing of
Okawville, who donated his proceeds back to the Foundation. A hole-in-one opportunity
for the use of a new Ford Bronco for two years including other hole-in-one prizes on each
Par 3 hole were available throughout the event sponsored by long-time Foundation
supporter Vogler Ford of Carbondale. No participants were successful in these prize
opportunities during the scramble.
The Foundation would also like to express its sincere appreciation to the more
than 35 regional and local businesses that supported the event this year. Each of the
golfers also received several individual gifts including a $5 gift card from Alongi’s
Restaurant, a foundation logo engraved sleeve of balls, a free assortment of items donated
by First Mid Wealth Management (Rich Gossett), the Law Office of Matthew Benson,
and Stifel Public Finance.
As a very important annual fundraiser for the Foundation, the event again netted
nearly $8,000 to be used for directly for students through the Foundation’s scholarship
and classroom grant programs. The District #300 Educational Foundation expresses its
sincere appreciation to those individuals and businesses that supported this successful
event to benefit the students in District #300 by “Investing in Our Future”.

Below are the pictures of our Flight A Champions, Flight B Champions, and Individual Award Winners with our Foundation President Tim Leake. 

A Flight Champions with Tim Leake, Foundation President - Mark Bullock, Randy Popejoy, Richard Martin, and Gene Creek

B Flight Champions with Tim Leake, Foundation President - Bob Wallace, Phyllis Wallace, Kelsey Wright, and Dan Pender

Individual Award Winners with Tim Leake, Foundation President - Jason James (Men's Longest Drive), Carter McPherson (Men's Closest to Pin), Sheila Metten (Women's Longest Drive), and Kelsey Wright (Women's Closest to Pin)